BKCEDC Receives International and National Recognitions for Excellence in Economic Development

Left: Misty Mayo receiving one of 3 awards received at the IEDC Annual Conference.

Right: Alison Church presented with the Special Judges’ Award at the SEDC Conference

October 13, 2017 (Boerne, Texas) – The Boerne Kendall County Economic Development Corporation received 3 excellence in economic development awards from the International Economic Development Council (IEDC) at the annual conference in September. IEDC’s Excellence in Economic Development Awards program distinguishes the world’s best economic development programs and marketing materials. The awards honor organizations and individuals for their efforts in creating positive change in urban, suburban and rural communities.

The BKCEDC received a Silver Award for the all-new website, a Silver Award for the Annual Snapshot, and a Bronze Award for the General Purpose Attraction Brochure. Selected from a record number of entries, “the

BKCEDC continually strives to bring economic development opportunities to Boerne and Kendall County and is pleased to receive international, national and state recognitions for its enhanced economic development efforts,” said BKCEDC Board Chair, Pam Parish.

The BKCEDC also received a Special Judges’ Award for the organization’s complete rebranding package at the Southern Economic Development Council’s (SEDC) Annual Conference, as well as an additional Award of Merit for the website.

Prior to receiving the awards from IEDC and SEDC, the BKCEDC received its first-ever recognition for Excellence in Economic Development from the Texas Economic Development Council.

Boerne Kendall County President/CEO Misty Mayo stated, “These awards are possible because of the strong support of over 80 private business Investors, and the leadership from our Board Members, Kendall County and the City of Boerne.”

Executive Board Members: Pam Parish-Chair, Tommy Mathews-Vice Chair, Charlie Hill-Treasurer/Secretary, Scott Wilson-Past Chair, Ron Bowman, Phil Hunke, Jeff Mnick, Kathy Estes, Judge Darrel Lux, and Mayor Mike Schultz.

Advisory Board Members: Bill Hetherington, Ritchie Sorrells.

Board Members: John Bonnin, Reid Cain, Jonathan Collins, Sean Drees, Paul Duran, Joe Granados (Ex-Officio), Chuck Gregory, Roger Hemminghaus, Mike Lang, Steve Mack, Kenny Mantor, John Mark Matkin, Ross Partlow, Neil Potter, Dr. Thomas Price (Ex-Officio), Guy Sanders, Keri Sandvig, David Spencer, Donna Terrell, Jeff Thompson, Robert Thornton, Teresa VanBooven, Shawn Vaughan, Ron Warden, and Andra Wisian.

Recent Headlines